Bad Hazel….

Standard

Apologies I’ve been very quiet lately. Some days the ideas for posts just don’t come, and some days life just seems to happen so quickly and weeks go by without me realising.

But don’t worry, i’ve not fallen off the wagon. In fact i recently weighed myself for the first time in a bout a month ( in which I just ate normally, no calorie counting etc ) and I had lost 1 lb. Bravo.

I’m still eating mostly healthy healthy food, and I usually spend head to the gym 5 days a week, but it’s good to know that my weight doesn’t fluctuate hugely if I stop obsessing over my food intake. My body seems to like being at this weight. It’s comfortable.

So what’s been happening in the last few weeks?

A lot of training in the gym. I’ve started a 10 week training plan for my 10k obstacle race in November. It involves tabata sprints twice a week, weight training 3 times a week, and mostly trying to build my upper body strength. My biggest challenge is to be able to climb across a set of monkey bars. As a kid I spent hours doing this effortlessly, now I can barely hold onto one bar for more than a seconds.

However, I can see progress already. 3 weeks ago I used a step for added height, held onto the bar, and managed to hold on for about 3 seconds. This week, I jumped from the floor onto the bar, held on and made it across to the next bar with both hands. Small progress, but progress non the less. I even did a little victory dance in the middle of the gym.

I still have a long way to go until my race, and I’m still not 100% I can complete it, but the important thing is I’m trying. Everyday I push myself a little bit further towards my goal, and if I fail first time, I’ll just keep trying until I succeed.

I’ve also been a little bit busy dating…. there is a new man in my life, so at least I’m getting plenty of cardio, but i’ll save that for another post.

And I’ll write it soon….I promise.

 

Leave a comment