Food for thought…

Standard

Every man and his son knows I’m studying nutrition, but when it comes to my own diet, whats the status quo?

Well that’s the subject of todays blog. I’m unsure whether I’m doing well, or if i’m letting myself get away with too much.

My current days food looks a little like this….

Breakfast : 2 scrambled eggs, 1 cup spinach. Black coffee

Mid Morning : 1 banana, 1 apple or a protein shake

Lunch : Chicken salad. Black coffee.

Mid afternoon : 1 ice cream/ice lolly/chocolate bar/ packet of crisps

Tea : chicken with vegetables

Mid evening : Chicken, handful of nuts, or a piece of fruit.

Most days I have some form of “treat”, be it a piece of chocolate ( a whole bar ) a slice of cake, a few nibbles of sweets at a party, a bit of popcorn at the cinema etc… It’s nowhere near the quantity I had before my VSG obviously, but I feel like I’m eating “too much” sugar.

But then I flip it over. I was a horrendous binge eater and bulimic and I’ve come SUCH a long way in my progress. I no longer have bingeing sessions where I eat 4000+ calories in 20 minutes. I very rarely make myself sick, usually it’s to do with physical pain due to eating an extra mouthful of something, and I have found ways to cope with “extreme emotional situations”. Now I’m not saying they are healthy choices, I punch a boxing bag, scream, throw a paddy, cry like a baby, amongst other things, but I no longer hide my feelings under 6 bags of cookies.

Given the amount of progress I’ve made with my eating disorder I don’t know if i’m doing very well as a recovering bulimic, or doing badly as a VSG’er. The two don’t really go hand in hand. Having a “normal” relationship with food, is probably quite different to having a “healthy” relationship with food, and I’m not sure which I’m trying to achieve.

I’m trying to build more muscle and tone up my body. But If I can’t kick the sugar I might never have a flat stomach and high energy levels. However, I’m not, nor will I ever be a professional athlete. Do I really need a perfect diet?

If I’m maintaining a healthy weight, exercising every day, getting all my nutrients into my body, and then having a treat in a controlled moderated way, is that such a bad way to be?

 

One thought on “Food for thought…

  1. Sigga

    I think your diet looks fine. I’m only 2 weeks out but I was looking over my “what to eat papers” from the doc and they looked pretty similar to what you have (although there is no mention of chocs) 🙂

Leave a comment